Originally, the building housed the shipyard’s power plant. The single-floor limestone building was completed in 1913, and several technical extensions and a canteen were built later.
The Noblessner quarter has become a popular and attractive seaside area in recent years, appreciated for its proximity to the sea and the port, contrasts between new and old buildings, the active social life and the wide selection of bars and restaurants.
During the reconstruction, the building was cleared of the less valuable extensions, and both the distinctive limestone facade and the fine metal roof trusses were restored.
Inside the building, the historical layers have been displayed as they were found. The modern interior finish surrounding them has been kept clean, creating an effect that is evocative yet distinctly urban.
There are commercial premises on the ground floor of the building, accommodation units on the first floor, and small but charming apartments on the second floor. Storage and technical rooms have been moved to the basement. One part of the building’s historical facade, with paint peeling off, has been preserved. This was part of the interior during the confusing period when the building was wedged between various extensions.